The Town of Lowville has a rich history, dating back to when Columbia County was first recognized in 1846. Named after its first settler Jacob Low, the Town of Lowville is similar to the Town of Otsego in that the unincorporated community of Lowville resides in the township. Jacob Low's father was Captain Gideon Low, a settler of Fort Winnebago and proprietor of the famous Franklin House of Portage. Mr. Low converted his house into a hotel in 1846 and ran a tavern until 1853.
Today, the Town of Lowville has a population of almost 1000 people and an area of 35.7 square miles (92.5 km²). 34.3 square miles (88.7 km²) of which is land, and 1.5 square miles (3.8 km²) of which is water. It is located southeast of the Village of Rio and actually borders the village. This map of Lowville Township shows just how close it is to the Village of Rio. This proximity means that township members have easy access to everything the village has to offer.
Back to Government page